August 23 – Day 3, Food Recap

Standard

Another wonderful day at the Minnesota State Fair!

I got to the fair around 9 am this morning and knew I was going to spend my whole day there. It didn’t start off perfectly because after biking there I realized I forgot my entry ticket at home (ggrrr).  I decided to start my day off in the food building before it got crowded. 

I thought the PotatoSkins Booth had something on-a-stick (nice guys!), but either my list was outdated, or the Fair App is wrong, either way I ended up getting an egg roll from ChinaTown. Really, it just tasted like a fried egg roll. I wouldn’t give it positive or negative reviews but, hey, if you are in the mood for that, this would be a good spot to get it. 

Potato Skins   Egg Roll

I quickly moved to the Sausage Sisters booth and ordered a Twisted Sister. It had a buttery dough wrapped around a sausage and was served with a spaghetti sauce. It was very”sausage pizza-ish” without the cheese. (I came back later in the afternoon and had a Puffy Daddy. It was basically a crescent roll wrapped around a sausage. The Twisted Sister was MUCH better than the Puff Daddy. )

Twisted Sister   Puff Daddy

I walked towards the yellow slide and stumbled across Mike’s Hamburger’s Deep Fried Hot Dog. I wasn’t too sure what to expect but it ended up being a hot dog wrapped in a wonton wrapper and fried. It was pretty crunchy and resembled a corn dog with less fluff. 

Mike's Hamburgers   Deep Fried Hot Dog   

I ended up running into my friend Lindsey, who happened to have a mermaid on-a-stick (photo op!).

Mermaid On-A-Stick

I needed a breakfast dessert so I decided to try the fudge. I had cookies & creme and they have lots of other flavors (rocky road, dark chocolate, peanut butter, etc.) …this was a terrible idea. Don’t get me wrong, the fudge was very good but eating an entire fudge block by yourself is never a good idea. This put me on hold for at least an hour. 

Fudge   Bad Choice

After I recovered I found the Deep Fried Lobster at Lulu’s Public House in the West End Market. Lulu’s is impressive. They have a two story building with a patio up top and it just has a very fun atmosphere to it. The lobster was great!It was full chunked lobster deep fried. It did seem a little pricey ($9.00) for the portion that you got, but then again, you are ordering lobster at a fair. 

Deep Fried Lobster   image

I checked out the West End Market for a while and after meeting up with some friends decided it was time to get the newly famous Meatloaf On-A-Stick from The Blue Barn. This place is huge and they were very efficient in moving people through the lines (they were long). The meatloaf was surprisingly sweet. I am used to my momma’s meatloaf with ketchup on top and this one had a bbq-like sauce that was much sweeter than I expected. The meat part was super moist and it was over all a good buy

Blue Barn   Meatloaf

Next up was the Buffalo Kabob from Minnekabob right next to the U of M Building. I have had buffalo before and thought the flavor was fine, but what I couldn’t get over was the price: $10.50! This was the most expensive thing I had ordered so far. I know buffalo is a less popular meat, but this seemed very steep for what they were offering. 

Buffalo

We saw the Deep Fried Buckeye stand and a friend had decided he was ready to try one. I reluctantly decided it was time and went for it. I soon realized it was a giant log of peanut butter and chocolate deep fried.  It was very good; melty and creamy, just like you would imagine. It was very similar to the deep fried candy bars. The Buckeyes were very smooth and didn’t have a lot of texture. I would opt for a Deep Fried Snickers if I was debating between the two. 

Buckeye   Friends   

It took about an hour or so to be ready for my next food choice which ended up being Deep Fried Macaroni and Cheese back at Lulu’s Public House. I didn’t care for the first bite, but after that I thought they were pretty well done. For $4.00 the portion size was generous and the flavor was right on.

Mac and Cheese   Mac and Cheese

I can’t believe there is still more to write about….

We headed to the barns and walked past the Deep Fried Mashed Potato Stand so I gave it a whirl. There was bacon and cheese inside and they were surprisingly good. I could tell that there was a tipping point for the perfect sized portion and the ones that ended up in too big of a fried ball just fell apart (see pic). They weren’t bad and really had a mashed potato taste. I thought they were something unique and fun to try but probably wouldn’t get again

Mashed   image

 

I knew I needed to cross of some things that I wasn’t looking forward to so I tried the Ostrich On-A-Stick from China Town inside the Food Building. It tasted like very lean ground beef. It was very moist and I didn’t think it even needed the teriyaki sauce that came with it. This also seemed like something fun to try, but I really don’t think I will eat it again. It just wasn’t that “over-the-top” amazing. 

image   image

The last two stops on my list were for olives and a Bomb Pop. Both very standard foods, and I love them both so they were a great way to end my day. 

image   image

image   image

Today I completed my 46th item on the list. FOURTY SIX.

Tomorrow I get to spend another day doing what I love: eating.

I am loving this!

Leave a Reply

