August 26 – Day 6, Food Recap

Standard

Day 6!!! Typically, Tuesday is the lowest attended day of the fair, and I appreciated an easy day of navigating. 

I worked in the morning so I didn’t get to the fair until 2:30 pm. I hadn’t eaten anything yet so I decided to start with the Fried Veggies from Vegie Fries. I had never tried these before because I don’t come to the fair to eat vegetables. Once I started eating them I realized they are really just french fries and onion rings with a deceptive name. These had a slightly fluffier batter to them; less crunch than fries or onion rings. I would order them again. They were a good product with a bad name. 

image   image

I needed a main course for lunch so I stopped by Mancini’s for a Sausage On-A-Stick. My first thought was: great another stinking  hotdog, but after the first bite I was surprised how different it tasted. It was pretty spicy and covered in a marinara sauce. It was also accompanied by some great bread. I didn’t have to eat the bread but I did because it was a nice pairing! If you like a little spice, try this one. 

image   image

 

I walked over to Mickey’s across the street from the food building to grab a Beef Kabob. I had never tried any of their food before because it reminded me of every other fair vendor. To my surprise, these guys had great food! The beef was extremely tender and fell right off the stick. It came with a tortilla which seemed like an odd pairing, but they had lots of condiments to choose from and you could easily have made yourself a taco. Best kabob I have had so far. 

image   image

 

On my way to my next stop I stumbled across these two. So cute! I told them I was going to post them on my blog and they looked a bit confused. None the less….

 image

Pretzel House serves up awesome pretzels so I was pretty pumped to try the Pretzel Dog. Unfortunately mine was not hot, not even warm. It could have been awesome, but it just wasn’t.

image   image

 

For dessert I had a Deep Fried Twinkie. I am glad I tried it! It was very light and fluffy and I can see why people like them. I imagine they taste similar coming out of the factory oven. The Twinkie was hot and gooey with just a little more breading than an original Twinkie. It was a glorified Twinkie but a fun treat. 

image   image

image

I knew I would have to tackle the Gummy eventually so I went for it. I thought it would taste like a gummy bear but I couldn’t even bite into it. I was a sticky mess trying to eat this mustache. Thankfully I sat next to a hilarious man for 45 minutes who told me all about his adventurous day at the fair. Do not get this, it wasn’t good. 

image

You can’t go wrong with a fresh dipped Chocolate Covered Banana. Granny’s Cheesecakes does it right and this is a nice treat on a hot day. 

image

I had a Paul Bunyan Bar from West End Creamery on my list, but I came to find out they only had Blue Bunny Orange Dreamsicles. Talk about disappointment. I paid $4.00 for something I can get at the grocery store year round for a fraction of the cost. They have so many other options, don’t waste your money on this. 

image

I headed back to Peterson’s Grill to grab their Grilled Chicken Breast. It has the same seasoning as their pork chop, which is delicious, but I thought it seemed a little saltier on the chicken. Overall it was a bit salty, but grilled perfectly. 

image   image

My last stop of the day was for Stuffed Jalapeños On-A-Stick. These were not on-a-stick and had been under the lamps way too long. I am pretty sure these don’t count as officially being on-a-stick which means I ate them for “fun.” Truth is, it wasn’t very fun, and they weren’t very good. 

image   image 

My girlfriends came out tonight so I had some company. They stopped at O’Gara’s and grabbed the Pretzel Curds and had rave reviews. I didn’t try one because well…it didn’t have a stick but they looked fabulous. 

image

I have 11 items left on my list. I checked about 50 vendors today to confirm I didn’t miss anything and still have about 100 more vendors to go before I can officially say:

I ATE ALL THE ITEMS ON-A-STICK AT THE MINNESOTA STATE FAIR.

Leave a Reply

